It is currently Sun May 16, 2021 1:41 am


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How many machines are needed
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:09 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:17 pm
Posts: 20
I first heard about this while listening to the d6generation's podcast and was excited. I have since watched the videos on the net showcasing the game as well as waiting on my kit to get to me so I can actually see the mini's, however I do have a question. How many machines are needed to play? Do you have to use a single machine like the videos show or can both players have separate machines such as two itouches or two netbooks?


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: How many machines are needed
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:16 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:45 am
Posts: 216
Location: Penacook, NH, USA
Hello,
You will be able to log two people into same machine or ipod device. Or you can each use your own, even one person using a laptop for instance and the other using their iTouch.

Hope this helps.

Welcome to the Beta!

_________________
mystojjt

Captain Mysto Out!


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: How many machines are needed
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 10:15 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:17 pm
Posts: 20
Thank you. That is exactly what I wanted to know. While I like the idea of being able to use the same device, such as the itouch that was used at Gencon, I think it would limit the game if that was the only way to play.


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: How many machines are needed
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 9:21 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 4:37 am
Posts: 5
mystojjt wrote:
Hello,
You will be able to log two people into same machine or ipod device. Or you can each use your own, even one person using a laptop for instance and the other using their iTouch.

Do you know how this will be handled in the event there is no internet access at the site?


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: How many machines are needed
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 12:29 pm 
Stupor Mundi
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 1:24 pm
Posts: 532
Hey guys,

Depending on our progress during the beta, the 'LAN' functionality *may* be post release. It's a very-nice-to-have features (we have a working version of it, but it's not 100% complete), but one we won't delay the game for. One of those border-line functionality that'll squeeze in last minute or just after release.
Quote:
Do you know how this will be handled in the event there is no internet access at the site?


For that, it's pretty simple: You need to internet to login players (between 1 and... quite a few). Then you're free to unplug the machine, bring it where ever you want and play as many games as you want. You'll earn XP and all goodness once you reconnect to internet and log-out your profiles. There's a few edge-case scenarios we've been discussing as well, but that's the main idea.


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: How many machines are needed
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 4:53 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 4:37 am
Posts: 5
Friedrich wrote:
For that, it's pretty simple: You need to internet to login players (between 1 and... quite a few). Then you're free to unplug the machine, bring it where ever you want and play as many games as you want. You'll earn XP and all goodness once you reconnect to internet and log-out your profiles. There's a few edge-case scenarios we've been discussing as well, but that's the main idea.

But I gather that if you're playing where there is no access, both players need to be using the same client, right?


Top
 OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: How many machines are needed
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:34 pm 
I could not be a traitor to Edward, for I was never his subject.
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:47 pm
Posts: 1888
You can also have lans without internet access. Either wifi or wired.

_________________
Image


Top
 OfflineProfile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Ex illis and Bastion are trademarks or registered trademarks of Studio Figurines Bastion Inc. in the US and/or other countries. All rights reserved.