It is currently Fri May 14, 2021 10:29 pm

Post subject: Musings from a trial player.
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 1:17 pm 

Hello everyone.
My name is Mattimao and I have been gaming a long time.
I was very interested in checking out Ex-Illis so when the trial came out I was happy to try it out.
My first thought was " Are they nuts? "
You see, I am a huge mini painter and terrain builder. Have been for over 20 years. I have a whole room in my house that is just for gaming and hundreds of minis in display cases.
SO- The idea of what Ez-Illis was seemed very scary to me.
I have watched as in the past years the number of mini gaming players has gone to almost nothing in my area. Most of them have gone over to only computer gaming.
(please no flaming about what I say next)
The advent of computer gaming is one of the main factors behind the demise of most gaming stores.
I AM a computer gamer also, BUT I do not game against other people on the computer. If I am going to play another person, I want to be in the same room with them.
So... You see why Ex-Illis was a scary concept to me.

Then... I played the trial of Ex-Illis...I looked with more detail at the minis...I started reading the Wiki... I got very excited about this new concept in gaming!

Like any good gamer, I have to ask myself questions about any new game.The questions are pretty simple-

OfflineProfile  
 Post subject: Re: Musings from a trial player.
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 1:31 pm 

Continued :)

Questions I ask-
Do I really enjoy the game? yes
How much work is involved to put together ,paint ect.? Lots
How much does it cost? Good value. ( exception- Banneret $20? )
Would my friends play it? I think so.
SO...
What is stopping me from taking the dive into the Ex-Illis pool?
Several things.
1. You have to have an online connection.
2. Your friends have to have an online connection.
3. The amount of work that the "video game" gamers would have to put into thier minis.